top of page

For My Mom on Mother's Day

Mother’s Day always makes me emotional. Even when I was a child, I was especially sensitive on this day. My mom was sad on Mother’s Day because she had lost her own mother only three weeks before I was born. And when do you ever get over losing your mom? I was also very emotional because of the great amount of love that I had for my mom. My little heart just could not hold it all in, and I never thought I would ever love anyone with as much intensity as I loved her.

I can remember one Mother’s Day in particular when I was about 9 years old. It was a typical Mother’s Day morning at church in the children’s Sunday school department. We were given paper and crayons so that we could make Mother’s Day cards. I suppose our pastor and Sunday school teachers had decided that one way they could honor the mothers would be by letting the children present their cards to their moms during the morning church service. I wanted my Mother’s Day card to say all that I felt in my heart for my mom, and I searched quickly for the right words. My mom always told me that the answers to life’s questions were found in the Bible so that’s where I started looking. I still have that old Precious Moments Bible that I used that morning.

My parents gave me this Bible in 1987.

I first went to Proverbs 31 to find words to describe my mom from that passage. Then I went to the back of the Bible where there was a section titled “Personality Traits to Enhance Your Christian Life.” Bingo. This was where I would find most of the 762 words that I used that morning in my attempt to describe my mom.

The time came for the children to present their cards during the service, and, with my voice shaking, I held the microphone and started to read my card. Overcome with the emotion that only a 9-year old girl can have for her mother, I was not too far into my words when the tears just started spilling over, and I was bumbling along, sobbing because I could no longer physically contain all the love. (I think that was the first and the last year that they let the children participate that way during the church service.)

As I was thinking about my mom today and all that we have been through, I remembered that Mother’s Day so many years ago. Although I wouldn’t have any idea where this card would be now, after looking back at my old Bible and reading through those personality traits again, I want to rewrite for you this statement of love for my mom for Mother’s Day.

My Mom

She is courageous. She gets her strength from God who enables her to endure any trial or situation.

She has convictions. She holds firm beliefs based on biblical principles which do not change no matter what the circumstances.

She has confidence in God. She knows that He is always with her, and she believes He is who He says He is. She makes time to read her Bible and pray.

She is creative. From art projects to birthday cake masterpieces, her creative side is always on display.

She is always doing her best. Whether it takes late nights or early mornings, she gives 100% to whatever the task.

She is friendly. She will talk with anyone and makes friends with strangers.

She is generous. There is no price tag that can be found that would illustrate the amount of herself that she put into raising me and my sisters.

She has manners. My mom always knew how to act in different environments and made sure that her daughters also knew to exhibit composure and etiquette.

She is neat. Her home is well-organized, clean, and in order.

She is orderly. She has a proper place for things and is very methodical in managing her household responsibilities.

She is optimistic. She has a positive outlook that everything will turn out for the best because

God is in control.

She is reverent. She taught us to have reverence for God and for His House and for our bodies as temples of the Holy Spirit.

She is thrifty. I do not believe she has ever bought anything that was not on sale or that she did not have a coupon for.

She is thankful. She has always maintained an attitude of thankfulness for the things that God has given her. She takes the time to write thank you notes and taught us to do the same.

She is pure. She has guarded her heart and mind from the ways of the world.

She is a worker. I do not remember my mom ever sitting still or not having something to do.

I do not think that I will ever be as unselfish and giving to my children as my mom was to me. There was nothing too big or too small for her when it came to her girls.

I hope she knows how much I love her.

May 2014

bottom of page