top of page

Is God "Too Big" for Me?

As we sat down to breakfast, we bowed our heads and offered our morning prayer. Monroe expressed thankfulness for the food we were about to eat, and he mentioned several friends who had serious health concerns. At the end of his prayer, he asked God to help him with a particular situation that he was dealing with. After he finished praying, as we were serving our plates, I could tell that something was weighing on his mind. Each of us that morning had expressed concern for our friends who were dealing with sickness and hurting, but these were not the reasons for Monroe’s thoughtfulness at this moment. In fact, he said that he had felt selfish for praying for his situation because it seemed so “insignificant” in light of the medical issues and pain that we knew others were experiencing. This disclosure brought about an interesting discussion at our breakfast table. It seems that God had been working on all of our hearts concerning this issue.

When Monroe said that he felt like his prayer request was unimportant when compared to some of the more major situations that we could be facing, it reminded me of my prayer time from only earlier that morning. I myself had been praying about something that seemed small, and I had wondered if I might not should pray about it. When I asked God if I had been right to ask, I felt in my heart that He answered me by the remembrance of several passages in the Bible. If I did not pray for this “small” thing, I was essentially saying that God was too “big” for my problem. If He is a God who is too “big”, then He might not care about the small things. Do I rely on myself to handle the “small stuff”, telling God that I’ve “got” this one and that He doesn’t have to worry? Am I saying to God that He can be in control of the “big stuff” and that I will take care of the “small stuff”?

Grace also had a response for Monroe. She said that she read a story about a woman who needed a car. This lady prayed that she would “see” God’s hand in her being able to get a car. In fact, she prayed specifically for a car of a certain color and kind so she would know that it was in God’s will alone if she was to have it. And, after a time had passed, the woman found that God had blessed her to be able to buy the exact car that she had prayed for. I will not recommend that we should consider testing God, but did not Gideon himself ask for a clear sign from God according to His will? If you are not familiar with this story, read Judges 6:36-40.

So, after considering these thoughts for a bit, it all comes to the question…do we give to God all the big and small “stuff” in our lives? Do we take control of what we think He is too big or busy to handle OR do we give Him all of it…our lives, our prayer requests, our hopes, our plans, our dreams, our time, our money, our love?

In each of the following biblical scenes, the circumstances are not life-threatening. They may be inconvenient, embarrassing, or frightening, but the participants have come to Jesus for His help no matter. No prayer request should be considered too big or too small. Consider the following passages…

Jesus was at a wedding where the wine had run out before the wedding feast was over. Jesus directed the servants to fill huge jars with water and then to present some to the master of the banquet. Jesus had changed the water into wine.

This, the first of His miraculous signs, Jesus performed at Cana in Galilee. He thus revealed His glory, and His disciples put their faith in Him.” John 2:11

Jesus is in a boat with His disciples. He falls asleep, and a storm comes up. The disciples come and wake Jesus, and He gets up and rebukes the wind and waves so that all is calm.

“In fear and amazement they asked one another, ‘Who is this? He commands even the winds and the water, and they obey Him.’” Luke 8:25b

There was a woman who had a health issue that had plagued her life for twelve years. She did not tell Jesus her problem; she only wanted to touch His robes for healing. When He was trying to get to home of a little girl who was dying, the crowds were pressing against Him, and this woman touched his cloak. The woman came forth and told Him what she had done.

“He said to her, ‘Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.’” Mark 5:34

Paul said that he was given a “thorn in [his] flesh” to “torment” him. He prayed three times that God would take this affliction away from him. Paul never details his problem so that we are left to ponder what the grievance might have been. It was not a life-threatening concern but was a bothersome reminder to Paul.

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” II Corinthians 12:9

Finally, consider the words of Jesus Himself…

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.” Matthew 11:28-29

Sometimes I place so much emphasis on God as the Creator, Healer, and Redeemer that I “forget” that He is also the Sustainer and Comforter.

Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you. I Peter 5:7

bottom of page