top of page

It's For You

He’s not quite 3. He came walking over from our neighbor’s house with his cousin. We played ball with him and loved on him. When it was almost time for him to go back home, he sat down next to the driveway. He sifted sand through his fingers, moving it, making designs on the ground. Then, he grabbed two handfuls of sand, got up, and walked over to us. He held his hands up and said my husband’s name. It’s for you.”

This tiny little fellow had nothing to give us but the sand from our yard. And we gladly accepted it. We opened our hands, and he poured the sand into ours. He kept going back and getting more to give to us before he had to leave. More sand. “It’s for you.”

And it made me think about how God has given me life and love and laughter. And how He gave His Son...who gave everything He had. And He said, "It's for you."

And I want to give Him something. But, all I've got is me. My heart. Raggedy, wicked, and sin-stained. I have no goodness, nothing of "value" that I can give to the Maker.

But all He wants is all I've got. And I give it to Him anyway. "It's for You."

And He accepts it, delightedly.

But He does not leave it blackened, scarred, and in tatters. In His hands, He gently washes it with the blood of the Lamb, cleansing, and it becomes whole. I've handed Him my sin, and in return He's given me His joy, pure righteousness. All because He loves me.

And He says, "It's for you."

bottom of page