top of page

As White As Snow

Where we live in Texas, there are few days that we get to enjoy snow. But this week, the ice came first and then came the snow. As I watch it falling, steadily, softly, I cannot help but feel the sacredness of it. The days we have been inside, insulated from the world, unable to venture out, activities cancelled; all is still and quiet. They have been sacred moments of laughter and playing, warm nights by the fire, snuggles in bed together. How I have treasured this time!

And the snow, it keeps falling. I look out at the ground which was just a few days ago brown and ugly. Now, it is covered in a white blanket of beauty. Calm, smooth, untouched. The snowflakes falling softly. This is a day of holiness. A day set apart from the world. A day of peace and of quiet reverence. A day of Christ I cannot get over.

Before, my life was like the ground. Brown, ugly, weeds of sin growing, nothing of beauty or worth. And then at once, His grace began to fall. His grace covering me. The blemishes and ugliness growing fainter and fainter. His grace falling softly, gently all around and over me. His grace, covering me as a blanket, making the ugly turn to beauty, clothed in His righteousness. The weeds, the tallest ones still uncovered, and His grace keeps falling. Falling. On me. Covering me with His love, cleansing me from the dirt, making me white and fresh, unblemished and untarnished. His grace...it just keeps falling. The snow, it whispers of His love, His covering, His grace, His peace. And I'm on my knees, grateful for the moment, grateful for the day to be set apart, quietly watching it fall over me. Humbled by His Presence, His sacredness, worshiping Him, thanking Him for His provision.

Isaiah 1:18b

And His grace...it just keeps falling.

bottom of page