top of page

Introducing Grace

I've known Grace for over 10 years now, and I've had the privilege to spend almost every single day of her life with her. A remarkable girl, full of compassion, and always having a smile for everyone, Grace has captivated our hearts and brings us great joy and laughter. We knew that you would want to learn more about her.

After a whirlwind fall semester that included school, swimming, Awanas, and the church Christmas play, Grace took a little time off in December to rest. It's January, and Grace's schedule is already in full swing. I caught up with Grace and sat down to interview her and ask her the pertinent questions that everyone wants to know.

Please welcome Grace to our blog today.

Mommy: So, Grace, I guess the most important question that everyone has on their mind... what is your favorite thing to eat?

Grace: I have never been a picky eater. I have a wide variety of things that I like. My favorites are chili, chicken parmesan, baked sweet potato fries, and cheesecake.

Mommy: Ok, well, I was just kidding a little bit on the first question. But, seriously, we are new to the blogging world, and I know your readers would like to learn more about you. Some of my questions may seem random, but I want everyone to get a good sense of who you are. Let's get started. Where is your favorite place to be?

Grace: I have always loved swimming pools. Whether it be in a kiddie pool on the front porch, at a friend's house, at a hotel, or at swim practice, I love to be in the water.

Mommy: Tell us about your swimming. How long are your practices? What's your favorite stroke? Why do you think you like swimming so much?

Grace: I usually practice 6-8 hours a week. My favorite stroke is freestyle. I love swimming because I love the way water feels.

Mommy: You are also very active in church. Would you tell me about your experience in the Awana program?

Grace: I love memorizing Scripture, and I especially love theme nights. This year, we have had a red, white, and blue night, B.A.R.F. night (Bring A Real Friend), nerd night, and pajama night.

Mommy: What Bible verse means the most to you? Do you have a favorite Bible story?

Grace: My favorite Bible verse is Joshua 1:9b, "For the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest." My favorite Bible story has always been the story of Paul, Silas, and the Philippian jailer found in Acts 16.

Mommy: Now it's time for another fun question. What's your favorite color?

Grace: My favorite color has been and will always be HOT pink.

Mommy: Now, to talk about school. What is your favorite subject and why?

Grace: I like history because I like to learn about people from the past.

Mommy: What has been your favorite book?

Grace: I really liked Robin Hood. I also recently discovered a book series called Liberty Letters, and I really enjoyed Attack at Pearl Harbor.

Mommy: What book are you reading now?

Grace: I am reading Secrets of Civil War Spies (another Liberty Letter book).

Mommy: What movie do you never get tired of watching? Do you have a TV show you enjoy?

Grace: I never get tired of watching Gone with the Wind, and I love watching The Dick Van Dyke Show on Netflix.

Mommy: I know you like to travel. Is there a place that you dream about going one day?

Grace: I would really like to visit Paris and London, but I would also like to visit Holland, Germany, and Ireland.

Mommy: Why do you want to visit there?

Grace: I would like to visit Paris so I can see the Eiffel Tower and London so I can see the Tower of London, Buckingham Palace, and red telephone booths. I would like to see the windmills in Holland, people wearing lederhosen in Germany, and Ireland to see where the great potato famine took place.

Mommy: I even learned more about you too! I am so glad that we were able to do this interview together. You never cease to amaze me.

swirl line.jpg

As Grace's mom, I would have to say that we've been blessed by the presence of Grace in our family. She has a loving and forgiving spirit, a compassionate heart, and is a quiet leader. She excels because God has given her talents and abilities and because she works very hard to develop these skills. She's a wonderful friend, and my favorite person to go shopping with. She enriches our lives with her thoughts and opinions and contributes to our family by fulfilling her responsibilities. She writes notes of love and encouragement to each of us. She is a gift-giver, either making handmade treasures or using her own money to select special Christmas or birthday presents for each family member. She helps remind me daily of the grace that God has given me. She is one of the greatest gifts God has ever bestowed on us.

bottom of page